Sweater stretched out after washing - we return the old look

Posted by: 17.11.2017

Long socks, improper washing and drying not by the rules - these are the main reasons why your favorite sweater can lose its shape and turn into a shapeless something that can no longer be put on the way out. Fortunately, even if the sweater was stretched out after washing, it can return to its former appearance, and even in neglected cases. Do not rush to throw away your expensive clothes, if it is deformed after contact with a washing machine - the right approach to returning a sweater to your uniform will help protect yourself from the bitterness of loss and monetary costs. What to do if the thing is stretched after washing, and how to prevent it?

Why is a sweater stretched?

It is not always the case that a thing stretched out after washing in a washing machine - because of its rather high elasticity, a sweater can increase in size and resist deformation during wear. Quite often, people on nerves or out of habit touch the hem or sleeves of clothes, delaying them in different directions, which leads to a disproportionate increase in the length of individual parts of the sweater. From the outside, it looks very ugly, so the sweater should be “tied back”, especially if the sweater was stretched after washing - what to do in this case?

If sweater stretched after washing

Wedge method - use a washing machine

What to do if the sweater is stretched after washing, while the product is clearly machine knitted? You can use the same washing machine, in which the stretching occurred, but this time to use it wisely. It is necessary to act according to the instructions in order to return things to the previous form:

  1. Put a stretched sweater in a laundry bag.
  2. Send the bag to the washing machine drum.
  3. Add a product for washing wool.
  4. Select the quick wash mode and start the cycle.
  5. At the end of the wash, remove the bag and squeeze the sweater.
  6. Spread the sweater on a towel and dry.

Still, your sweater stretched out after washing - what to do in this case? Give your clothes the right shape before leaving it to dry. The thing will literally harden in the form that you give it, so it is important to track exactly how your sweater is drying.

Manual way to give the desired shape

Not all housewives know what to do if, after washing, a hand-made sweater stretched out. In this case, you will have to use a more delicate approach based on this approach:

  1. Fill the bathroom with a little warm water.
  2. Place the stretched product on the surface of the water and let it soak completely.
  3. After a few minutes of soaking, drain the water and squeeze the sweater.
  4. Put the sweater in a terry towel and again gently squeeze.
  5. After the last spin, place the item on a towel and let it dry completely.

As in the previous case, do not forget to give the product the correct shape before drying.

Partial restoration of things

How to restore a stretched sweater after washing, if only cuffs and sleeves are deformed? You can do a simple procedure, which involves wetting stretched areas of clothing with a spray bottle and further unfolding on a terry towel to give the necessary shape. Just a couple of hours, and the thing will take its original form.

To speed up the drying process of the sweater after wet processing, you can use a hair dryer. It is important to include it on the supply of cold air, since exposure to high temperatures can lead to even greater deformation of clothing, which will be difficult to eliminate.

General care tips

You already perfectly understand how to restore a sweater after washing - it stretched out strongly or not, you will definitely cope with the task. But it would not be superfluous to learn a few recommendations, following which will help to get rid of such a problem as the deformation of woolen things:

  • Try to wash all knitted products only by hand, only in warm water. The powder should be added in very small quantities, and, if possible, use only special formulations intended for washing wool items.
  • Never dry washed laundry in a suspended state - so clothes under its own weight will stretch even more than it will not work out.
  • Do not dry your clothes after washing in the open sun or near batteries - so the coat will become more rough and tough, and therefore the comfort of wearing things will be lost.

Now you will not panic if your jacket stretches out after washing - what to do and how to dry clothes properly you already know. Use tips in practice and share them with your friends, so that they also know how to care for woolen things.

Similar articles
English EN russian RU
G|translate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Свитер растянулся после стирки – возвращаем прежний вид


Продолжительная носка, неправильная стирка и сушка не по правилам – вот основные причины, по которым ваш любимый свитер может потерять свою форму и превратиться в бесформенное нечто, которое уже нельзя надеть на выход. К счастью, даже если свитер растянулся после стирки, ему можно вернуть прежний вид, причем и в запущенных случаях. Не спешите выбрасывать дорогую вам одежду, если она деформировалась после контакта со стиральной машинкой – правильный подход к возвращению свитеру формы поможет уберечь себя от горечи потери и денежных затрат. Что делать, если вещь растянулась после стирки, и как это предотвращать?

Почему свитер растягивается?

Далеко не всегда бывает так, что вещь растянулась после стирки в стиральной машине – свитер по причине своей довольно высокой эластичности может увеличиваться в размерах и поддаваться деформациям в процессе носки. Довольно часто люди на нервах или по привычке трогают подол или рукава одежды, оттягивая их в разные стороны, что приводит к непропорциональному росту длины отдельных частей свитера. Снаружи это смотрится весьма некрасиво, поэтому свитер надо «стягивать» обратно, особенно если свитер растянулся после стирки – что делать в этом случае?

Если растянулся свитер после стирки

Метод клина – используем стиральную машину

Что делать, если растянулся свитер после стирки, при этом изделие явно машинной вязки? Можно использовать ту же стиральную машину, в которой произошло растяжение, однако на этот раз применять ее с умом. Нужно действовать по инструкции, чтобы вернуть вещи прежний вид:

  1. Положите растянувшийся свитер в мешок для стирки белья.
  2. Отправьте мешок в барабан стиральной машины.
  3. Добавьте средство для стирки шерстяных изделий.
  4. Выберите режим быстрой стирки и начните цикл.
  5. По окончании стирки достаньте мешок и выжмите свитер.
  6. Разложите свитер на полотенце и сушите.

Все-таки ваша кофта растянулась после стирки – что делать в этом случае? Придайте одежде правильную форму перед тем, как оставить ее сушиться. Вещь буквально застынет в той форме, которую вы ей придадите, поэтому важно проследить за тем, как именно сушится ваш свитер.

Ручной способ придания нужной формы

Не все хозяйки знают, что делать, если после стирки вытянулся свитер ручного изготовления. В этом случае придется использовать более деликатный подход, основанный на таком подходе:

  1. Наполните ванную небольшим количеством теплой воды.
  2. Положите растянутое изделие на поверхность воды и дайте ей полностью пропитаться.
  3. По истечении нескольких минут пропитывания спустите воду, а свитер отожмите.
  4. Положите свитер в махровое полотенце и снова аккуратно отожмите.
  5. После последнего отжима положите вещь на полотенце и дайте полностью высохнуть.

Как и в предыдущем случае, не забывайте перед сушкой придать изделию правильную форму.

Частичное восстановление вещей

Как восстановить растянувшийся свитер после стирки, если деформировались только манжеты и рукава? Можно обойтись простой процедурой, которая подразумевает смачивание растянутых областей одежды при помощи пульверизатора и дальнейшее раскладывание на махровом полотенце с приданием необходимой формы. Всего пару часов, и вещь примет исходную форму.

Для ускорения процесса высыхания свитера после влажной обработки можно использовать фен. Важно включать его на подачу холодного воздуха, так как воздействием высоких температур может привести к еще большей деформации одежды, устранить которую будет проблематично.

Общие советы по уходу

Вы уже прекрасно понимаете, как восстановить свитер после стирки – растянулся он сильно или нет, вы точно справитесь с задачей. Но не лишним будет узнать несколько рекомендаций, следование которым поможет избавиться от такой проблемы, как деформация шерстяных вещей:

  • Старайтесь стирать все вязаные изделия только вручную, только в теплой воде. Порошок следует добавлять в очень небольших количествах, и по возможности применять только специальные составы, предназначенные для стирки шерстяных вещей.
  • Никогда не сушите постиранные шерстяные вещи в подвешенном состоянии – так одежда под собственным весом растянется еще больше, с чем не получится бороться.
  • Не сушите одежду после стирки под открытым солнцем или рядом с батареями – так шерсть станет более грубой и жесткой, в связи с чем комфорт от носки вещей пропадет.

Теперь вы не будете паниковать, если ваша кофта вытянулась после стирки – что делать и как правильно сушить одежду вы уже знаете. Применяйте советы на практике и делитесь ими со своими знакомыми, чтобы они тоже умели ухаживать за шерстяными вещами.