A few tips on how to properly wash your kimono

Posted by: 01.05.2018

Kimono - a convenient and practical suit for training in martial arts. This clothing is breathable, well absorbs moisture and does not constrain the movement of exercising. It is worth noting that washing kimono does not cause major problems, but still few know how to wash kimono so that it does not deteriorate and does not lose its original appearance. There are several recommendations on how to wash kimonos, and in this guide you will find the most important ones. So how to wash kimono quickly and easily?

Rules of competent washing kimono

In most cases, the kimono is made of cotton fabric - it is known that after washing this material often shrinks in the amount of 3-5%. This feature is characterized by the nature of the material, and nothing can be done about it. However, you can wash the kimono so that it sat down to a minimum. The degree of shrinkage after washing kimono is influenced by such factors as the type of fabric (100% cotton sits best), the presence or absence of anti-shrinking treatment of the material, as well as the temperature and mode of washing clothes.

Before you wash your kimono for judo, you need to set the correct water temperature. Most manufacturers of this clothing do not recommend exceeding the threshold in 30 degrees. Of course, the temperature can be increased up to 90 degrees, however, as the temperature rises, the percentage of shrinkage increases significantly. This property can be turned to advantage - if the purchased kimono is noticeably larger than the desired size, it can be washed at high temperatures to allow the material to sit down (this is the answer to the common question of how to wash the kimono so that it is village). But 30 degrees is the standard recommended always.

How to wash a kimono

You do not know how to wash a kimono for judo? Everything is quite simple here - follow the instructions:

  • Turn the kimono inside out, then gently roll it up and put it into the drum of the machine.
  • Add to the powder compartment a quality detergent for washing cotton products.
  • Set the water temperature at 30 degrees, set the mode of washing cotton products.
  • Start the washing process and wait for it to finish, then pull the kimono out of the drum.

People who are interested in how to wash a kimono so that it does not sit down, also wonder how often you need to wash clothes. Of course, for hygienic reasons, it is recommended to wash your kimono as often as possible, but it is not necessary to do this after each training session. So that the clothes do not sit down and do not lose their appearance ahead of time, it is better to wash the kimono once or twice a week. In any case, the frequency of washings should not be less than once a week in 2-3, otherwise dirt will accumulate.

How to dry kimono?

We figured out how to properly wash kimono for judo, but how should it be dried? Everything is very simple here - after the end of the washing, remove the clothes from the drum of the washing machine, straighten and hang the items of the suit on a hanger in an upright position. There are several recommendations for drying:

  • To the kimono itself dried as soon as possible, it is better to place it in the open air (balcony).
  • Do not hang suit items near heating appliances and open flame sources.
  • In the process of drying periodically straighten the kimono, so that it is not covered with folds.

How to wash kimono

As you can see, drying a kimono is as easy as washing a kimono so that it does not sit down. In especially warm weather, problems with drying will not arise at all, thanks to which the suit will dry out by the next training session. Also, after drying, you can stroke the kimono with an iron on a program recommended specifically for cotton. It should be noted that this procedure will be justified only for kimono, which is made of a material with a smooth texture. For example, braided kimono never needs ironing.

Watch your kimono, wash it regularly and dry it properly, and then it will serve you for many years!

Similar articles
English EN russian RU
G|translate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Несколько полезных советов о том, как правильно стирать кимоно


Кимоно – удобный и практичный костюм для тренировок в боевых искусствах. Эта одежда отлично пропускает воздух, хорошо впитывает влагу и не стесняет движения упражняющегося. Стоит отметить, что стирка кимоно не доставляет больших проблем, но все же немногие знают, как постирать кимоно так, чтобы оно не испортилось и не потеряло свой первоначальный вид. Существует несколько рекомендаций о том, как стирать кимоно, и в этом руководстве вы сможете ознакомиться с наиболее важными из них. Итак, как отстирать кимоно быстро и легко?

Правила грамотной стирки кимоно

В большинстве случаев кимоно изготавливается из хлопковой ткани – известно, что после стирки этот материал часто дает усадку в размере 3-5%. Данная особенность характеризуется природой материала, и с этим ничего не поделаешь. Однако можно стирать кимоно так, чтобы оно усаживалось в минимальной степени. На степень усадки после стирки кимоно влияют такие факторы, как тип ткани (100% хлопок усаживается лучшего всего), наличие или отсутствие противоусадочной обработки материала, а также температура и режим стирки одежды.

Перед тем, как постирать кимоно для дзюдо, необходимо выставить правильную температуру воды. Большая часть производителей данной одежды не рекомендуют превышать порог в 30 градусов. Конечно, температуру можно и повышать вплоть до 90 градусов, однако с ростом температуры стирки значительно увеличивается процент усадки. Это свойство можно обратить на пользу – если купленное кимоно заметно больше нужного размера, можно постирать его при высоких температурах, чтобы материал сел (это ответ на распространенный вопрос о том, как стирать кимоно чтобы оно село). Но 30 градусов – это стандарт, рекомендуемый всегда.

Как стирать кимоно

Не знаете, как стирать кимоно для дзюдо? Здесь все достаточно просто – руководствуйтесь инструкцией:

  • Выверните кимоно наизнанку, после чего аккуратно сверните и положите в барабан машинки.
  • Добавьте в отсек для порошка качественное средство для стирки изделий из хлопковых тканей.
  • Установите температуру воды на отметке 30 градусов, поставьте режим стирки хлопковых изделий.
  • Запустите процесс стирки и дождитесь его окончания, после чего вытащите кимоно из барабана.

Люди, которые интересуются, как постирать кимоно чтобы оно не село, также задаются вопросом о том, как часто требуется стирать одежду. Конечно, из гигиенических соображений рекомендуется стирать кимоно как можно чаще, однако необязательно делать это после каждой проведенной тренировки. Чтобы одежда не села и не потеряла своего внешнего вида раньше времени, лучше стирать кимоно один-два раза в недели. В любом случае частота стирок не должна быть меньше одного раза в 2-3 недели, иначе будет скапливаться грязь.

Как правильно высушить кимоно?

Мы разобрались в том, как правильно стирать кимоно для дзюдо, но каким образом следует его сушить? Здесь все очень просто – после окончания стирки достаньте одежду из барабана стиральной машины, расправьте и повесьте предметы костюма на вешалку в вертикальном положении. Для сушки есть несколько рекомендаций:

  • Чтобы кимоно само высохло как можно скорее, лучше размещать его на открытом воздухе (балконе).
  • Не развешивайте предметы костюма вблизи отопительных приборов и источников открытого огня.
  • В процессе высыхания периодически расправляйте кимоно, чтобы оно не покрывалось складками.

Как постирать кимоно

Как можно заметить, высушить кимоно так же просто, как стирать кимоно чтобы оно не село. В особо теплую погоду проблем с сушкой не возникнет вовсе, благодаря к чему уже к следующей тренировке костюм высохнет. Также после высыхания можно погладить кимоно при помощи утюга на рекомендованной специально для хлопка программе. Стоит отметить, что данная процедура будет оправдана только для кимоно, которое изготовлено из материала с гладкой фактурой. Например, плетеное кимоно в глажке никогда не нуждается.

Следите за своим кимоно, регулярно стирайте и правильно сушите, и тогда оно прослужит вам многие годы!