How to wash a velvet dress and care for things

Posted by: 05.04.2018

Natural velvet material, the threads of which are made of silk, is used for the manufacture of textiles for the home and various clothes. Velvet has unusual positive properties: it does not attract dust particles, does not cause irritation on the skin, does not contain chemical fibers and does not electrify. However, it is important to know how to wash a velvet dress or any other product, because sensitive material requires special care.

Rules for washing velvet dress

The safest and most effective way to wash a velvet dress is dry cleaning. However, there are cases when there is no possibility of seeking help from specialists. Is it possible to wash velvet clothes at home? If certain rules are observed, the product of cotton or synthetic origin is processed by our own efforts, however, if the velvet is silk or viscose, then it is better to spend money and take the thing to dry cleaning.

It is important to remember the following cleaning rules:

  • It is best to wash the velvet by hand, gently turning the fabric along the direction of the fibers;
  • In order not to spoil the soft fibers, the product must be turned inside out;
  • Sparing gels or liquid formulations can be used as cleansing agents, but not powders;
  • The optimum water temperature is 30 degrees;
  • Spin things should be avoided;
  • If the stains on the dress are noticeable, then they should be removed beforehand, before the main wash;
  • The recommended method of drying is on a horizontal surface unfolded.

Is it possible to wash the velvet dress in the "machine"? Machine washing as a cleaning method can be used only in extreme cases, since there is a possibility of a roughened pile and shrinkage of the product. If a dress made of velvet just hung in the closet for several months, it is not necessary to wash it - it is enough just to refresh its appearance in safe ways (treatment with water, steam, etc.).

Removing stains from velvet

In the matter of how to properly wash a velvet dress, initially you should pay attention to the presence of visible stains on the product. If the thing got wax, you can try to wipe the material with a mixture of alcohol (vodka) and turpentine. This should be done carefully, observing how the fabric reacts to cleaning products.

There are other types of pollution on velvet, which can be handled with available tools. The main ones are:

  • Ammon - an aid in combating stains from products on a velvet product. Means (1 st. L) must be diluted in a glass of water. Soak a cloth in the liquid and wipe the place of contamination with it. Experienced housewives recommend to pre-hold the dress over the steam, or to process the fabric with a steamer.
  • Wine vinegar will help in how to wash velvet from fat. It is necessary to make a solution: 1 glass of heated water + a tablespoon of vinegar.
  • Ammonia solution + cold water (1 to 10). With this tool you can get rid of the patchy areas on the velvet fabric. Treat the area with a brush or cotton swab. After cleaning, be sure to rinse the dress with clean water.

How to wash velvet

Listed ways of how to wash velvet things will help you quickly and without damaging the fabric to clean your favorite thing from complex dirt.

How to dry velvet product

After the velvet items are washed, you need to dry them properly. You can not unscrew the fabric, you should simply spread it on a horizontal surface, covered with a soft towel, which absorbs moisture well. The edges of the product are straightened, the dress rolls up into a roll. At the same time, it is necessary to press the thing onto the thing so that the excess moisture remains on the towel. The procedure is repeated several times. If necessary, the wet towel is changed to dry.

A roll of towels and dresses should be left for half an hour, then unroll and shake the product. To make a thing completely dry, you should leave it lying on the surface of the pile up. The procedure should not be carried out near heating devices or open sunlight. After the 2 clock expires, the item will completely dry out, after which you can start ironing.

How to wash a velvet dress

Methods of care and ironing velvet stuff

Before you wash and iron velvet, you need to assess the condition of the product. In some cases, it is enough to refresh the fabric so that it looks like new (if there are no visible contaminants). This will require a steamer. If the product has been hanging in the closet for a long time, then it is recommended to simply treat the material with a wet sponge. Experienced housewives are advised to first get rid of the dust with a hair dryer, and then only proceed to wet cleaning.

If there is no steamer, then you can hold the velvet thing over boiling water on the stove. To make the dress look even better, you can try to fill it from the inside with a soft cloth and steam. In addition to the care of velvet are the procedure of brushing the fabric with a brush in different directions (the brush is wetted in gasoline).

How to wash and iron velvet

Well straightens folds steamer, ironing is not recommended for the type of fabric in question. You can try another proven method:

  1. Lay a blanket on a horizontal surface in several layers.
  2. Cover it with a cotton sheet, which must be moistened with hot water.
  3. Attach the velvet pins to the sheet on the blanket.
  4. Cover the item with a dry clean cloth (you can also use a sheet), and then a damp one.
  5. Leave it all overnight. In the morning the dress will look great.

Velvet products require special care: cleaning from stains, delicate washing, proper drying and ironing. With a competent approach to these processes, a favorite thing will delight with its attractive appearance and freshness.

Similar articles
English EN russian RU
G|translate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Как стирать бархатное платье и ухаживать за вещами


Натуральный бархатный материал, нити которого сделаны из шелка, используется для изготовления текстиля для дома и различной одежды. Бархат обладает необычными положительными свойствами: не притягивает частицы пыли, не вызывает раздражения на коже, не содержит химические волокна и не электризуется. Однако важно знать, как стирать бархатное платье или любое другое изделие, ведь чувствительный материал требует за собой особого ухода.

Правила стирки бархатного платья

Самый безопасный и эффективный способ того, как постирать бархатное платье – это химчистка. Однако бывают случаи, когда возможности обращения за помощью к специалистам нет. Можно ли стирать бархатные вещи в домашних условиях? При соблюдении определенных правил изделие хлопчатобумажного или же синтетического происхождения обрабатывается и собственными усилиями, однако если бархат шелковый или вискозный, то лучше потратиться и отнести вещь в химчистку.

Важно помнить о следующих правилах очистки:

  • Стирать бархат лучше всего вручную, аккуратно перебирая ткань по направлению волокон;
  • Чтобы не испортить мягкие волокна, изделие нужно вывернуть наизнанку;
  • В качестве очищающих средств можно использовать щадящие гели или жидкие составы, но не порошки;
  • Оптимальная температура воды – 30 градусов;
  • Отжима вещи следует избегать;
  • Если заметны пятна на платье, то их выведением нужно заняться заранее, до основной стирки;
  • Рекомендуемый способ сушки – на горизонтальной поверхности в разложенном виде.

Можно ли стирать бархатное платье в «автомате»? Машинную стирку как способ очистки можно использовать лишь в крайних случаях, так как существует вероятность огрубения ворса и усадки изделия. Если платье из бархата просто провисело в шкафу несколько месяцев, необязательно стирать его – достаточно просто освежить его внешний вид безопасными способами (обработка водой, паром и т.д.).

Выведение пятен с бархата

В вопросе того, как правильно постирать бархатное платье, первоначально следует обратить внимание на наличие видимых пятен на изделии. Если на вещь попал воск, то можно попробовать протереть материал смесью из спирта (водки) и скипидара. Делать это нужно аккуратно, наблюдая, как реагирует ткань на чистящие средства.

Есть и другие виды загрязнений на бархате, справиться с которыми помогут подручные средства. Основные из них:

  • Нашатырь – помощник в борьбе с пятнами от продуктов на бархатном изделии. Средство (1 ст. л.) нужно развести в стакане воды. Промокнуть в жидкости тряпочку и протереть ей место загрязнения. Опытные хозяйки рекомендуют предварить подержать платье над паром или же обработать ткань отпаривателем.
  • Винный уксус поможет в том, как стирать бархат от жира. Следует сделать раствор: 1 стакан подогретой воды + столовая ложка уксуса.
  • Аммиачный раствор + холодная вода (1 к 10). С помощью этого средства можно избавиться от залосненных участков на бархатной ткани. Обрабатывать места следует щеткой или ватным тампоном. Обязательно после очистки промыть платье чистой водой.

Как стирать бархат

Перечисленные способы того, как стирать бархатные вещи, помогут быстро и без повреждения ткани очистить любимую вещь от сложных загрязнений.

Как правильно сушить бархатное изделие

После того как бархатные вещи постираны, нужно правильно их высушить. Нельзя выкручивать ткань, следует просто разложить ее на горизонтальную поверхность, накрытую мягким полотенцем, которое хорошо впитывает влагу. Края изделия расправляются, платье сворачивается в рулон. При этом нужно следка надавливать на вещь, чтобы излишки влаги оставались на полотенце. Процедура повторяется несколько раз. При необходимости мокрое полотенце меняется на сухое.

Рулон из полотенца и платья нужно оставить на полчаса, после чего развернуть и встряхнуть изделие. Чтобы вещь полностью высохла, следует оставить ее полежать на поверхности ворсом вверх. Нельзя проводить процедуру рядом с нагревательными приборами или открытыми солнечными лучами. По истечению 2 часов вещь полностью просохнет, после чего можно приступать к глажке.

Как постирать бархатное платье

Методы ухода и глажка бархатной вещи

Перед тем, как стирать и гладить бархат, нужно оценить состояние изделия. В некоторых случаях бывает достаточно освежить ткань, чтобы она выглядела как новая (если нет видимых загрязнений). Для этого потребуется отпариватель. Если изделие долго провисело в шкафу, то рекомендуется просто обработать материал влажной губкой. Опытные хозяйки советуют сначала избавиться от пыли с помощью фена, а затем только приступать к влажной очистке.

Если нет отпаривателя, то можно подержать бархатную вещь над кипящей водой на плите. Чтобы платье стало выглядеть еще лучше, можно попробовать набить его изнутри мягкой материей и пропарить. Кроме того к уходу за бархатом относятся процедура расчесывания ткани щеткой в разных направлениях (щетка смачивается в бензине).

Как стирать и гладить бархат

Хорошо расправляет складки отпариватель, глажка утюгом не рекомендуется для рассматриваемого вида ткани. Можно попробовать и другой проверенный способ:

  1. Сложить на горизонтальной поверхности в несколько слоев одеяло.
  2. Накрыть его хлопчатобумажной простыней, которую нужно предварительно смочить горячей водой.
  3. Бархатное изделие прикрепить булавками к расправленной на одеяле простыне.
  4. Накрыть вещь сухой чистой тканью (можно тоже простыней), а затем – влажной.
  5. Оставить все это на ночь. Утром платье будет прекрасно выглядеть.

Бархатные изделия требуют особого ухода: очистки от пятен, деликатной стирки, правильной сушки и глажки. При грамотном подходе к этим процессам любимая вещь будет радовать своим привлекательным внешним видом и свежестью.