Where to store potatoes in an apartment - simple, time-tested methods

Posted by: 05.01.2018

Potatoes are needed in the kitchen daily. The quality of our food depends on its freshness and taste. In the conditions of a city apartment a juicy tuber quickly deteriorates, sprouts, fades. This forces you to buy it little by little, which is not always convenient. How to store potatoes in an apartment so that its quality remains unchanged for as long as possible?

Many people manage to preserve root crops to a new crop without a basement or special storage facilities. How? There are some factors of successful storage:

  • temperature;
  • humidity;
  • illumination.

According to these criteria, we will determine how best to store potatoes in an apartment.

Optimum storage conditions for potatoes

Temperature

Root crops are best preserved at temperatures from 2 to 5 ° C, they do not freeze and do not germinate. At low temperature, the starch turns into sugar, the potato becomes sweet, unsuitable for use. If the temperature is above the optimum, the root crop begins to wake up and germinate, which eventually makes it sluggish, tasteless.

Humidity

The drier the better. Before storing, make sure that the tubers are dry and intact. No need to wash, enough to shake off the ground.

Important! The best container for long-term storage of vegetables from natural materials. For potatoes, it is fabric bags, wooden boxes that provide air access.

Light exposure

In the light, potatoes begin to produce a toxic substance solanine, which can be seen by the appearance of a green color. Such greened tubers will have to be cut or thrown away entirely. For any storage method, protect the tubers from light.

So, we are looking for a dark, cool, dry place where the potatoes will be stored well, but will not interfere. There are not many such corners in the apartment.

How best to store potatoes in the apartment

Place for potatoes in the apartment

Refrigerator

Not the best option. The volume is limited, it is a pity to occupy most of it with potatoes. Lack of ventilation leads to accumulation of moisture, and long-term storage to overcooling and the appearance of sweet taste. A good refrigerator for storing small quantities that will be used quickly.

Attention! Do not use plastic bags for storage. In this package, vegetables quickly dampen and deteriorate.

Pantry

If there is one, then we have found the perfect place. Here it is better to use board boxes. This will provide airing, the potatoes will not be wetted and overheated. It is easier to sort through, remove spoiled tubers. The boxes placed one on another or on a rack take up less space.

Advice! Experienced gardeners say that if the potatoes are put in leaves of mountain ash or poured with dry mint, it will noticeably delay their germination.

Balcony or Loggia

Traditional potato storage. If the balcony is glazed, this is the best solution. It is necessary to follow the approach of cold weather. If the temperature is close to zero, you can wrap the potatoes with an old blanket, with the onset of persistent frost, this will not be enough. We'll have to evacuate the roots in the apartment.

If you intend to store potatoes on the balcony all winter, it is better to make a special box that keeps the temperature. Any construction, there are several main criteria:

  • capacity should be double-layered;
  • put insulation between the layers;
  • insulation can serve as foam or sawdust.

Place a thermometer in the drawer to monitor the temperature.

Corridor

In a cool corridor, you can successfully store potatoes in cardboard boxes, pre-poured at the bottom of sawdust or paving newspapers to absorb moisture. In any case, the tubers will have to sort out from time to time, remove the sprouts that have appeared.

Interesting! Potatoes are often stored with beets; both products benefit from this neighborhood. The moisture released by the potato is absorbed by the beets, which allows it to remain juicy. Potatoes do not like neighbors with other vegetables.

Even in a small apartment, the zealous owner will find where to store potatoes. The apartment will order is preserved and products at hand.

Similar articles
English EN russian RU
G|translate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Где хранить картофель в квартире ‒ простые, проверенные временем способы


Картофель необходим на кухне ежедневно. От его свежести и вкуса зависит качество нашего питания. В условиях городской квартиры сочный клубень быстро портится, прорастает, вянет. Это вынуждает покупать его понемногу, что не всегда удобно. Как хранить картофель в квартире, чтобы его качество оставалось неизменным как можно дольше?

Многим удаётся сохранить корнеплоды до нового урожая без подвала или специальных хранилищ. Как? Факторов успешного хранения немного:

  • температура;
  • влажность;
  • освещённость.

По этим критериям и будем определять, как лучше хранить картофель в квартире.

Оптимальные условия для хранения картофеля

 Температура

Лучше всего корнеплоды сохраняются при температуре от 2 до 5°С, они не замерзают и не прорастают. При низкой температуре крахмал превращается в сахар, картошка становится сладкой, непригодной для использования. Если температура выше оптимальной, корнеплод начинает просыпаться и прорастать, что со временем делает его вялым, безвкусным.

Влажность

Чем суше, тем лучше. Перед закладкой на хранение следует убедиться, что клубни сухие и неповреждённые. Мыть не нужно, достаточно отряхнуть землю.

Важно! Лучшая тара для длительного хранения овощей из натуральных материалов. Для картофеля это тканевые мешки, деревянные ящики, обеспечивающие доступ воздуха.

Воздействие света

На свету картофелины начинают вырабатывать ядовитое вещество соланин, что можно заметить по появлению зелёной окраски. Такие позеленевшие клубни придётся обрезать или выбрасывать целиком. При любом способе хранения оберегайте клубни от света.

Итак, мы ищем тёмное, прохладное, сухое место, где картошка будет хорошо храниться, но не станет мешать. Таких уголков в квартире не так уж много.

Как лучше хранить картофель в квартире

Место для картошки в квартире

Холодильник

Не самый лучший вариант. Объём ограничен, занимать большую его часть картошкой жалко. Недостаточность вентиляции приводит к скоплению влаги, а долгое хранение к переохлаждению и появлению сладкого вкуса. Хорош холодильник для хранения небольшого количества, которое будет использовано быстро.

Внимание! Не используйте для хранения полиэтиленовые пакеты. В такой упаковке овощи быстрее отсыревают и портятся.

Кладовка

Если таковая имеется, то мы нашли идеальное место. Здесь лучше использовать дощатые ящики. Это обеспечит проветривание, картофель не будет увлажняться и перегреваться. Его легче перебрать, убрать подпорченные клубни. Ящики, поставленные один на другой или на стеллаж, занимают меньше места.

Совет! Опытные огородники утверждают, если картофель переложить листьями рябины или пересыпать сухой мятой, это заметно отсрочит его прорастание.

Балкон или лоджия

Традиционное место хранения картошки. Если балкон остеклён, это лучшее решение. Стоит следить за приближением холодов. Если температура близится к нулю, можно укутать картошку старым одеялом, при наступлении стойких морозов этого будет мало. Придётся эвакуировать корнеплоды в квартиру.

Если вы намерены хранить картофель на балконе всю зиму, лучше изготовить специальный ящик, поддерживающий температуру. Конструкция любая, главных критериев несколько:

  • ёмкость должна быть двухслойной;
  • между слоями поместить утеплитель;
  • утеплителем может служить пенопласт или опилки.

Для контроля за температурой положите в ящик термометр.

Коридор

В прохладном коридоре можно успешно сохранять картофель в картонных коробках, предварительно насыпав на дно опилки или проложив газеты, для впитывания влаги. В любом случае клубни придётся время от времени перебирать, удалять появившиеся ростки.

Интересно! Картофель часто закладывают на хранение со свёклой, от такого соседства выигрывают оба продукта. Влага, выделяемая картофелем, поглощается свёклой, что позволяет ей оставаться сочной. Соседства с другими овощными культурами картошка не любит.

Даже в маленькой квартире рачительный хозяин найдёт где хранить картофель. В квартире будет сохранён порядок и продукты под рукой.