Why is it considered that you can not wash socks with underwear together?

Posted by: 19.01.2018

In many forums, you can find topics with the question: "Is it possible to wash socks with cowards?" And requests to justify this or that opinion. It is usually impractical to arrange washing separately for socks and for underwear because of their small amount. And putting them in a drum together seems unhygienic to many.

Why can not wash socks with shorts

Where did this belief come from?

Automatic washing machines became popular not so long ago. Previously, all manipulations were carried out manually. At the same time, socks and underwear were often soaked or washed for a while. Of course, with a hand wash, the water temperature is not as high as in a car (no one can wash it in boiling water). When zamylivanii - too. Consequently, there was no exposure to high temperatures, and some bacteria and microorganisms could remain on things. Therefore, this neighborhood was undesirable. Often, underwear before the sock is usually also ironed with a hot iron: when warming up, almost all harmful microorganisms die. Again, the general sanitary situation was much worse for a long time. Therefore, for hygienic reasons, it was believed that it was impossible to wash socks and underwear together.

Then came the activator-type washing machines without the function of water heating. Moreover, many of them were very tough on things: they tore, stretched, etc. They did not risk women underwear and continued to wash it by hand, and moved their socks into cars. So the idea of ​​the inadmissibility of joint washing was fixed.

What changed

And several decades ago, the main automatic washing machines appeared and very quickly became. And here the question of the expediency of such a separation has already begun to arise, since the standard load is calculated at least on 4-5 kg of linen. Panties and socks together rarely weigh more than 0,5-1 kg. To run a separate cycle is impractical because of the high consumption of water and electricity. Therefore, sometimes there are problems with what to erase socks.

In this case, the machine can heat the water to 90 degrees, which guarantees the death of almost all bacteria (most die already at 40 degrees). That is, the separation due to disinfection already loses its meaning. Also, when washing things are very actively rinsed and cleaned well, so that pre-soaking is practically not required.

Why can not wash socks and pants together

However, despite all of the above, many housewives still wash separately pants and socks. And there are a number of reasons:

  1. The difference in colors. Usually the socks are colored or patterned, men's - dark. Underwear, on the contrary, is much more often light or completely white. Color quality is always an open question. Hence, it is likely that when washing socks shed and stain clothes. Therefore, it is better not to wash them together.
  2. The difference is in what temperature wash pants and socks. The last most often is a knitted product. Consequently, they treat hot water badly: they may lose their shape, sit down, shed, etc. Therefore, it is common to wear socks at a temperature of 30-40 degrees. Underwear should be washed at higher temperatures (from 60 to 90 degrees). This simple operation will get rid of intestinal bacteria that live on shorts.
  3. Different materials. Underwear and socks are made from different materials. The first can be made of silk, with lace, etc. The second is made of wool, wool and so on. Different products are required to wash various materials. With the wrong selection of powder things quickly become useless: they lose their appearance, become rough, brittle, etc.
  4. After washing the socks and the underpants together, the pellets often appear on the latter, which are almost impossible to remove. When wearing socks, they can deliver some discomfort.
  5. Much depends on the mode in which you need to wash socks and pants: delicate lace lingerie can easily “cripple” coarser wardrobe items at high speeds, wool requires a gentle washing mode, cotton is unpretentious, but it is usually washed at high temperatures, etc. e. That is, it is almost impossible to select a single program suitable for all types of linen.
  6. Personal disgust. It seems to many that socks are something very dirty and unworthy of joint washing with underwear. Therefore, they are washed together with pants or work clothes.

Thus, it turns out that there is no consensus and universal solution. Therefore, everyone decides for himself whether he can wash his socks with shorts or not. However, with a competent approach to washing somehow it turns out that pants and socks rarely appear in the same batch. And this question worries housewives rarely.

Similar articles

Почему считается, что нельзя стирать носки с трусами вместе

На многих форумах можно встретить темы с вопросом: «Можно ли стирать носки с трусами?» и просьбы обосновать то или иное мнение. Обычно устраивать стирку отдельно для носок и для нижнего белья нецелесообразно из-за их малого количества. А класть их в барабан вместе многим кажется негигиеничным.

Почему нельзя стирать носки с трусами

Откуда взялось такое убеждение

Стиральные машины–автомат стали популярными не так давно. Раньше все манипуляции проводились вручную. При этом нередко носки и трусы замачивались или намыливались на некоторое время. Конечно, при ручной стирке температура воды не такая высокая, как в машине (никто не сможет стирать в кипятке). При замыливании – тоже. Следовательно, не было воздействия высоких температур, и некоторые бактерии и микроорганизмы могли оставаться на вещах. Поэтому такое соседство было нежелательным. Нередко нижнее белье перед ноской обычно еще и проглаживали горячим утюгом: при прогревании погибают практически все вредоносные микроорганизмы. Опять же общая санитарная обстановка долгое время была гораздо хуже. Поэтому из гигиенических соображений считалось, что стирать носки и трусы вместе нельзя.

Затем появились стиральные машины активаторного типа без функции нагревания воды. Причем многие из них весьма жестко обходились с вещами: рвали, растягивали и т. д. Нижним бельем женщины не рисковали и продолжали стирать его вручную, а носки перекочевали в машины. Так мысль о недопустимости совместной стирки закрепилась.

Что изменилось

И вот несколько десятилетий назад появились и очень быстро стали основными стиральные машины–автомат. И здесь уже стал возникать вопрос о целесообразности такого разделения, поскольку стандартная загрузка рассчитана минимум на 4-5 кг белья. А трусы и носки вместе редко весят больше 0,5-1 кг. Запускать отдельный цикл нецелесообразно из-за большого расхода воды и электроэнергии. Поэтому иногда возникают проблемы, с чем стирать носки.

При этом автомат может нагреть воду до 90 градусов, что гарантирует гибель практически всех бактерий (большинство гибнет уже при 40 градусах). Т. е. разделение из-за дезинфекции уже теряет смысл. Также при стирке вещи очень активно прополаскиваются и хорошо очищаются, так что предварительное замачивание практически не требуется.

Почему нельзя стирать носки и трусы вместе

Однако, несмотря на все перечисленное выше, многие хозяйки до сих пор стирают отдельно трусы и носки. И тому есть ряд причин:

  1. Разница в цветах. Обычно носки цветные или с рисунком, мужские – темные. Нижнее белье, напротив, гораздо чаще оказывается светлым или вовсе белым. Качество окраски – всегда вопрос открытый. Значит, велика вероятность, что при стирке носки полиняют и окрасят белье. Следовательно, лучше не стирать их вместе.
  2. Разница в том, при какой температуре стирать трусы и носки. Последние чаще всего – это трикотажное изделие. Следовательно, они плохо относятся к горячей воде: могут потерять форму, сесть, полинять и т.д. Поэтому обычно носки стирают при температуре 30-40 градусов. Нижнее белье нужно стирать при более высоких температурах (от 60 до 90 градусов). Эта простая операция позволит избавиться от кишечных бактерий, обитающих на трусах.
  3. Разные материалы. Нижнее белье и носки изготавливают из разных материалов. Первые могут быть из шелка, с кружевом и т. д. Вторые – из шерсти, полушерсти и т. д. Для стирки разных материалов требуются различные средства. При неправильном подборе порошка вещи быстро приходят в негодность: теряют вид, становятся грубыми, ломкими и т. д.
  4. После совместной стирки носков и трусов на последних нередко появляются катышки, которые практически невозможно убрать. При носке белья они могут доставлять определенный дискомфорт.
  5. Многое зависит от того, на каком режиме нужно стирать носки и трусы: нежное кружевное белье легко могут «покалечить» более грубые предметы гардероба на высоких оборотах, шерсть требует щадящего режима стирки, хлопок – неприхотлив, но его обычно стирают при высокой температуре и т. д. Т. е. подобрать единую программу, подходящую для всех типов белья, практически невозможно.
  6. Личная брезгливость. Многим кажется, что носки – это что-то очень грязное и недостойное совместной стирки с нижним бельем. Поэтому их стирают вместе со штанами или рабочей одеждой.

Таким образом, получается, что единого мнения и универсального решения нет. Поэтому каждый решает для себя сам можно стирать носки с трусами или нет. Однако при грамотном подходе к стирке как-то само собой получается, что трусы и носки редко оказываются в одной партии. И такой вопрос беспокоит хозяек редко.